top of page
Search

Being a Beginner


Everyone has been a beginner, at some time or another. For some people it never stops being this terrifying thing, and they use that as an excuse not to pursue new hobbies or try anything outside of their comfort zone. One of my favorite quotes is by Neale Donald Walsch, it reads, "Life begins at the end of your comfort zone." I've used this quote many times growing up as motivation to do the thing that scares me the most. When you start applying this quote to your life you might find that you end up with a lot more stories to tell, a few more fun memories, and new relationships with the people that you have experiences with.

One of the main bonuses of being a multipotentialite is that you get really good at being a beginner, you learn to somewhat silence the voice inside of you begging you not to go for it, to stay where you are, where it's safe. You learn to keep pursuing when you get pushed back or when you are the worst in a room full of people. You learn to care less what people think of you and your abilities, and to be proud of yourself no matter what, because you showed up.

I was always a shy kid, extremely quiet, reserved, and had trouble socializing. So when I walked into a room full of strangers to join a cake decorating class at the age of ten, I was practically petrified. The room was full women in their late thirties and forties, and to this day I have no idea how my parents convinced the instructor to let me in. However, I killed it in that class, was the teachers favorite, learned how to create flowers out of icing, and top cupcakes with precision. My point with this story is, take the leap. The first day will be hard, the first week or month might be hard, but eventually you will get better. Keep striving.

I am by no means the world's best pastry chef, and I rarely get to bring out my decorating skills, but I learned a lot in that class. I learned that I really can do anything I put my mind to. I learned that it's completely okay to not know what you are doing, and to ask for help. I learned that whether or not other people support you, you can support yourself. I learned that skills transfer, which is a major positive of being a multipotentialite. No matter what new career, hobby, or skill set you try, you will learn valuable information that you can take wherever you go next in life. For example, I may not decorate cakes anymore, but by doing that I developed an eye for what looks good and what doesn't. I unknowingly took that knowledge and apply it every week at my job making and topping pizzas.

To conclude, You are never fully a beginner, every life experience you have had has taught you something that you can take wherever you go. I encourage you to remember this quote, "Life begins at the end of your comfort zone." (Neale Donald Walsch) and to apply it as a mantra any time that you feel yourself backing out of an opportunity that scares you. I wish you luck on all of your new beginnings, Keep striving.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page